1990 Baseball Team
1990 Baseball Team
Sport(s): Baseball
Inducted: 2016

The 1990 baseball team has the distinction of being the best baseball team in the history of Philadelphia University. Led by head coach Bob Bunnell, the Rams won a school-record 34 games and are the only baseball team to reach the Division II College World Series.

The Rams got off to a fast start, winning eight of their first nine games and outscoring their opponents by just over 3.5 runs per contest. Philadelphia caught fire again at the end of the regular season—going 11-1 over the last 12 games, including four consecutive shutouts—to begin the postseason with a 29-11-1 record.

After going 2-2 in the Eastern College Athletic Conference playoffs, Philadelphia was named the top seed and host for the NCAA Northeast Regional. The Rams opened the regional with an 8-7 victory over Indiana (Pa.) and then knocked off Norfolk State twice, 7-1 and 8-7 in 13 innings, to advance to the World Series. In the World Series, Philadelphia was upended by eventual national champion Jacksonville State and Central Missouri.

Led by ace Mike Kerrigan, the Philadelphia pitching staff finished 16th in Division II with a 3.67 earned run average (ERA). In 14 starts, Kerrigan went 10-3, including four shutouts, with Division II’s 18th-best ERA of 2.28 and struck out 70 batters in 98.2 innings.

Reliever Jim Banmiller was 7-1 with a 3.84 ERA and Mark Camut posted seven victories and led the team with 72 strikeouts.

Ira Prince was the Rams’ offensive leader as he hit .405, ranking 36th in Division II, with 13 doubles, 5 home runs, 44 runs batted in, and 29 stolen bases. Dave Heineman drove in a team-best 55 runs and Carl Messina hit a team-high 7 home runs. Dave Heineman, Mark Heineman, and Matt Durci all ranked in the top-25 in the toughest batters to strike out in Division II.

1990 Philadelphia College of Textiles and Science Baseball Roster

Bob Bunnell - Head Coach Jim Banmiller Anthony Bologna
Mark Camut Happ Capoferri Brian Ceribelli
Kevin Christman Francis Ciociola Matthew Durci
Mark Heineman David Heineman Wayne Irons
Michael Kerrigan Jason Madden David Markowski
Carl Messina Thomas Moore Ira Prince
James Richards Michael Sergio Donald Webb
Shawn Webb